Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Angiosperms that bear parallel venation in leaves and fibrous roots are called _______

Last updated date: 17th Jul 2024
Total views: 349.5k
Views today: 4.49k
349.5k+ views
Hint: Let us first know about angiosperms. The plants which give us seed are divided into angiosperms and gymnosperms based on the origin of seed. In angiosperms, seeds are produced from ovaries whereas in gymnosperms, seeds are produced in cones. Angiosperms are further divided into monocots and dicots.

Complete answer:
Angiosperms are generally classified into monocots and dicots. These were classified on the basis of the number of cotyledons. Monocots have a single cotyledon as the name indicates whereas dicots have two cotyledons. These two classes of angiosperms show distinct features in their roots,leaves and stem. In monocotyledon plants, the root system is fibrous where many equal sized networks of roots are present close to the soil. Leaves show parallel venation i.e. all the veins are parallel to each other. The vascular bundles in monocots are scattered. In dicotyledonous plants, there is a single main root called taproot and many rootlets arise from it. Leaves show reticulate venations, where many networks of veins are present and the vascular bundles are arranged in a ring pattern. By considering the above features, angiosperms that bear parallel venation and fibrous roots are called monocots.

Hence, the answer is monocotyledon plants or simple monocots.

Angiosperms are also known as flowering plants. It is said to be the largest and most diverse group of kingdom Plantae with about 3,00,000 flowering plant species. These are believed to show a greater diversity in all the features when compared to Gymnosperms.