Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Anaphase differs from metaphase in having?

Last updated date: 22nd Jul 2024
Total views: 347.7k
Views today: 4.47k
347.7k+ views
Hint: The mitosis of the cell cycle consists of four phases Prophase, Metaphase, Anaphase, Telophase. Metaphase is that stage in the mitotic phase of cell cycle in which one can easily appreciate the size, and shape of the cell.

Complete answer:
Cell cycle is the four stage process that helps the cell to divide within a set of events. The first stage is the Gap 1 (G1) that helps the cell to proliferate in size and the next one is the Synthesis (S) stage in which the DNA replicates itself and the third stage is the Gap 2 (G2) that makes the cell ready for division. The fourth stage is the main division stage which comprises another four phases: Prophase, Metaphase, Anaphase, Telophase.
The metaphase is the stage in which one can easily appreciate the size and shape of the cell and the number of chromosomes is also seen. The most important characteristic of the metaphase is the metaphasic plate or equator. The chromosomes get aligned at this plate and the spindle fibers set themselves towards the kinetochores of the two sister chromatids of a chromosome.
The anaphase is characterized by the presence of the most condensed form of the chromosome and the spindle fibers detached from the sister chromatids and leads to half the number of chromatids in anaphase with the same number of the chromosome.

Mitosis is known as equational division as the daughter cell formed will have the same number of chromosomes as in the parental cell(diploid) because the chromosomes first get divided and then get equally separated. Mitosis occurs in somatic cells.