Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres

Rhinoceros Facts for Kids

Last updated date: 01st Mar 2024
Total views: 126.9k
Views today: 1.26k
hightlight icon
highlight icon
highlight icon
share icon
copy icon

Few Lines on Rhinoceros

Rhinoceros, also known as Rhino, is usually known for its one horn. The word Rhinocereous translates to ‘nose horn’. There are five species of Rhinoceros: Black Rhinoceros, White Rhinoceros, Indian Rhinoceros, Javan Rhinoceros, and Sumatran Rhinoceros, two of these are natives of Africa, and the other three are natives of South and Southeast Asia. In this article, We will discuss a little about Rhinoceros, their horns, and their habitat and then state some interesting facts about these organisms.

Rhinoceros Definition

The term ‘Rhinocereous’ means ‘nose horn’ and thus it is given to an organism that is well known for its one nose horn. 

Rhinoceros Habitat

Rhinoceros are usually found in regions like subtropical or tropical grasslands, savannas, shrublands, subtropical moist forests, etc.

Rhinoceros Habitat

Rhinoceros Habitat

Their habitats usually depend and vary from species to species; for example, Sumatran Rhinoceros are usually found in dense highlands and lowland tropical and subtropical forests, whereas the white rhinos are usually found in African grasslands. 


Rhinoceros Horn

Rhinoceros Horn

Rhinoceros Horn

Rhinoceros are usually known for their horns; their horns are of great value and were even sold in the market. Their horns have been used for centuries to make ceremonial cups and other things like buttons, hair pins, belt buckles, etc. Their horns also have traditional importance. They are used as a traditional medicine system in various countries of Asia like Malaysia, South Korea, India, and China, mainly to cure various different types of animals.

It was also used as a symbol to display success and wealth in ancient times. In today's time, hunting Rhinoceros for their horns in most countries is illegal. 

Rhinoceros Facts

Some fun and interesting facts about Rhinoceros are mentioned below:

  • Rhinoceros can weigh over 1000 kgs.

  • White Rhino can weigh up to more than 3500kgs. 

  • White Rhinos are considered to be the second largest land mammals. 

  • Three of the five Rhinoceros species come under the critically endangered species. 

  • They have thick, protective skins. 

  • The horns of a Rhinoceros are made up of a protein called keratin, the same proteins which make our fingernails and hair. 

  • Rhinoceros are herbivores. 

  • Contrary to their name, white rhinoceros are actually grey.

White Rhinoceros

White Rhinoceros

  • A group of Rhinoceros is known as a ‘herd’ or ‘crash’.

Sample Questions 

State whether the given statements are true or not:

1. White Rhinoceros is not white.

Ans: True. 

2. There are four species of Rhinos.

Ans: False, There are five species of Rhinos. 

3. Rhinos are famous for their horns.

Ans: True.

Learn by Doing

Complete the following statements by filling in the blanks:

1. Rhinos are usually found in______ and ________.

Ans: Africa, South, and Southeast Asia.

2. Rhinos can weigh up to ________ kgs.

Ans: 1000

3. Their Horns are mainly used for ______ purposes.

Ans: medicinal purposes. 


Rhinoceros are huge organisms, which are well known for their one nose horn. They are more commonly known as Rhino. They are usually found in tropical and subtropical regions like Africa and South or Southeast Asia. 

FAQs on Rhinoceros Facts for Kids

1.Why are rhinos considered megaherbivores?

Rhinoceros are considered as megaherbivores because they are huge in size and have a fully plant-based diet which is why the name megaherbivore was given to them.

2.Which species is the largest herbivore?

The largest species of Rhinos is the white rhinoceros, which can weigh more than 3500 kgs.

3.Why are Black Rhinos called so?

Black Rhinos get their names in a contrast from the White Rhinos and also from the fact that they are usually covered by black-coloured dirt.