Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Last updated date: 24th Nov 2023
Total views: 263.4k
Views today: 3.63k
MVSAT Dec 2023

Which is the largest country in North America?
A) U.S.A
B) Canada
C) Mexico
D) Costa Rica

263.4k+ views
Hint: North America, the world's third-biggest continent, is located primarily between the Arctic Circle and the Tropic of Cancer. It stretches more than 5,000 miles (8,000 kilometres) east-west and comes within 500 miles (800 kilometres) of both the North Pole and the Equator. North America is divided into 23 countries and dozens of territories with a total area of 24,709,000 km square.

Complete answer:
Two of the world's three largest countries are located in North America. Canada, the United States, Greenland, and Mexico dominate North America.
Let us look at the given options.
A)The United States of America (U.S.A) is made up of 50 states, with Washington, D.C. as its capital. The United States has a total land area of 9,831,510 square kilometres, making it the continent's second-largest country. Thus, option A is an incorrect answer.
B)Canada is the largest country in North America, with a total area of 9,984,670 sq. km (3,854,083 sq miles). Canada has a population of more than 37.4 million people, with the majority of residents living in the southern region of the country, near the US border. Thus, option B is the correct answer.
C)Mexico is located between the United States and Central America, and its capital is Mexico City. Mexico comes in third place as the largest country in North America, with a total size of 1,964,380 sq. km. Thus, option C is an incorrect answer.
D)Costa Rica is North America's ninth largest country. It covers 51,100 square kilometres. Thus, option D is an incorrect answer.

Therefore the correct answer is option ‘A.

Note: Canada is also the second-largest country in the world.Ottawa is the country's capital, and Toronto, Montreal, and Vancouver are its three major cities. Canada was formed as a federal dominion of four provinces. Canada is a parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy in the Westminster tradition.