Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Which are the main ranges in the Middle or the Lesser Himalayas?

Last updated date: 20th Jun 2024
Total views: 386.1k
Views today: 9.86k
386.1k+ views
Hint: The Middle Himalaya is a mountain range that runs parallel between the Shiwaliks in the south and the Great Himalaya in the north. It is also called the Himachal or Lower Himalaya.

Complete step-by-step answer:
The middle of the lesser Himalayas is an intricate system of ranges that are 60 – 80 km wide and has an elevation varying from 3,500 to 4,500 mt above sea level. Most of the peaks are more than 5,050 mt above sea level and are covered with snow throughout the year. Some of the essential ranges of the Middle Himalaya include the Pir Panjal, the Dhaola Dhar, the Mussoorie Range, the Nag Tiba, and Mahabharata Lekh. The Pir Pangal, the southernmost range of the Middle Himalaya, in Kashmir is the longest and the most essential range. The famous valley of Kashmir lies between the Pir Panjal and the Zaskar range of the main Himalayas, running over a distance of about 135 km in the southeast to northwest direction. This valley is about 40 km broad with an average elevation of 1,585 mt. Above mean sea level which extends in the area of 4921 sq km. The Middle Himalayas are marked by the Mussoorie and the Nag Tiba Ranges further east. The average elevation of the Mussoorie Range is 2,000 – 2,600 m. This runs over a distance of 120 km from Mussoorie to Lansdowne.

Note: On the whole, The Middle Himalayan Ranges are less hostile and friendlier to human contact. The majority of Himalayan resorts like Shimla, Mussoorie, Ranikhet, Nainital, Almora, and Darjeeling, etc. are located here.