Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

What is the Scientific Name of a Frog?

Last updated date: 22nd Jul 2024
Total views: 355.9k
Views today: 5.55k
355.9k+ views

Frogs belong to the member of amphibians which means they can survive on both land as well as water. The amphibians are the first vertebrate species found on the planet. There are more than 5000 species of frog found all over the world. 

Different Species of Frog and their Scientific Names

Following are some of the main species of frogs and their scientific names:

Red-eyed Frog: This species is mainly found in Southern and Northern America. The scientific name of this species is Agalychnis Callidyras. This species is known for its neon green body color, red eyes and orange to reddish feet. This frog is mainly known as a monkey frog because of the huge feet which provide a strong grip as it climbs tall trees.

Goliath Frog: This is another exciting amphibian. The scientific name of this species is Conraua Goliath. The frog ranges between 6.5 to 12.5 inches in length. They are the largest known frogs in the world. The male goliaths make whistling sound to attract their female counterparts during mating season. 

Tree Frog: Tree frogs are considerably smaller in size. They are so small that they can easily fit in human hands. They spend most of their time on trees, and they have rounded feet, which discharge a gluey liquid that helps them in climbing the trees. The tree frogs make a disturbing noise at night. The scientific name of Tree frog is Hyla. 

Wood Frogs: Wood frogs are considered as one of the rarest amphibian species and are mainly found in Alaska and Arctic Circle. This is the only frog species that slips into hibernation when the temperature falls below zero degrees Celsius. The scientific name is Lithobates sylvaticus.

Tomato Frog: Tomato frogs are considerably bigger in size and look like ripe tomatoes. The female tomato frogs are much brighter than their male counterparts. The scientific name of tomato frog is Dyscophus. 

Glass Frog: These frogs have transparent bellies due to which their internal organisms are visible from outside. One can actually see a glass frog’s heart pumping blood, through its skin. Its scientific name is Centrolenidae. 

Rain Frog: This species is the cutest of all known amphibians. They have short limbs and bulging eyes. The scientific name of rain frog is Breviceps gibbosus.

Common Frog: The scientific name of this frog is Rana Temporaria. The color of this species varies from gray to olive and yellow to brown. They are known to be active during night. 

Indian bull frog: 

Blue Poison Dart Frog: The blue poison dart frog looks amazing and this creature is found in the tropical forest. They secrete a toxic substance through its skin.

Stages of a Frog Life Cycle

Let us now go through the gestation process and different stages of a frog life cycle.

Gestation Method: -The mating process takes place during the spring season and in the rainy season. Sometimes you must have heard the croaking noise of a frog that is made by the males to attract their female partners.

Stage 1: Egg

The frog species mainly lay their eggs in calm water. The group of laid eggs is known as spawn. The fertilized eggs when get matures, the yolk in each egg divides into many cells and develops in the form of tadpole within a time period of -3 week.

Stage 2: Tadpoles

Tadpoles (larva) are the second stage of a frog lifecycle. During the first week, the tadpole gets nutrition from the yolk of hatched eggs. The tadpole feeds on algae to receive nutrition and grow their diet habits by feeding on plants and insects. During this stage, tadpole develops limbs and the body gets elongated. Slowly, the front limbs grow and the skin gets formed.

Stage 3: Adults

The gills of the tadpole and tails are fully developed after 12 weeks of age, which means that the frog has reached the adult age. By this time the frog is fully grown up and ready to live their life.

It is important to know the scientific names as it describes various species in a universal way. This is known as binomial nomenclature and the scientific names are derived from the Latin name of the organism. The scientific name is divided into the genus name, which comes first followed by the species- specific name.