Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Last updated date: 27th Nov 2023
Total views: 277.2k
Views today: 2.77k

The Himalayas are generally divided into three ranges which do not include:
(A) Siwalik
(B) Greater Himalayas
(C) Karakoram
(D) Lesser Himalayas

277.2k+ views
Hint: The Himalayas are a mountain range that runs across South and East Asia, separating the Indian subcontinent's plains from the Tibetan Plateau. Many of the world's highest peaks are found in this range, including Mount Everest, which lies on the Nepal-China border.

Complete answer:
Siwalik, Greater Himalayas, and Lesser Himalayas are the three main ranges that make up the Himalayas.

Between the Great Plains and the Lesser Himalayas are the Siwalik range located. They are a nearly uninterrupted series of low hills, with the exception of an 80-90 km distance occupied by the Tista River and Raidak River valleys.

The southern slopes of the Lower Himalayas are steep and bare [steep slopes prevent soil formation] while the northern slopes are gentle and forested. It is situated between the Siwaliks in the south and the Greater Himalayas in the north.

The folds in the Greater Himalayas range are asymmetrical, with a steep south slope and a gentle north slope, resulting in topography known as hog back (a high, steep hill or mountain ridge). This mountain range contains the world's tallest peaks, the majority of which are still covered in snow.

The Karakoram, also known as the Karakorum, is a massive mountain range that runs through Pakistan, India, and China, with the range's northwest extremity reaching into Afghanistan and Tajikistan.

Hence, the Himalayas are generally divided into three ranges which do not include Karakoram. So, the correct option is (C).

Note: From the Indus gorge in the west to the Brahmaputra gorge in the east, the Himalayas stretch east-west. At these gorges, the Himalayan ranges take sharp southward bends. These Himalayan bends are known as syntaxial bends.
Students Also Read