Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

State any three features of Rabi cropping season in India.

Last updated date: 20th Jun 2024
Total views: 387k
Views today: 10.87k
387k+ views
Hint: Crops are plants cultivated by the farmers. Farming assumes a significant part of the Indian economy. It is the foundation of our nation.$70\% $ of the Indian population relies upon horticulture for food and cash. It is a significant occupation in the provincial territories. The development of yields relies basically upon the climate and soil conditions.

Complete step-by-step solution:
The yields are of the three sorts relying on the season where they are developed:
Kharif Crops: The yields which are cultivated in the rainy season are known as Kharif crops. For e.g., maize, millet, and cotton. The seeds are planted toward the start of monsoon season and reaped toward the finish of the storm season. Such harvests require a ton of water and a hot climate for appropriate development.
Rabi Crops: The name "Rabi" signifies "spring" – a word that comes from Arabic literature. The yields that are filled in the colder time of year season and gathered in the spring are called Rabi crops. Wheat, gram, and mustard are a portion of the Rabi crops. Different agrarian practices are completed to create new yield assortments. Such yields require a warm atmosphere for the germination and development of seeds. They require a chilly atmosphere for their development. The western disturbances help in the development of these crops. These are majorly grown in northern and north-western states of India.

Note: Zaid Crops: Such harvests are developed between the Kharif and Rabi seasons, i.e., between March and June. These yields develop early. Cucumber, pumpkin, severe gourd, and watermelon are zaid crops.