Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Owar, Bajra, and Ragi were included in which category
A. Pulses
B. Wheat
C. Millets
D. Cereals

Last updated date: 20th Jun 2024
Total views: 387k
Views today: 10.87k
387k+ views
Hint: Jowar, Bajra, and Ragi are small-grained, warm weather cereal, annual and which belong to the grass family. They are tolerant of drought and can survive in extreme weather conditions. These are believed to be consumed by humans about 7000 years ago.

Complete step by step answer:
Pulses are regarded to be edible seeds that belong to the legume family. The term pulse refers to the dry edible seed within the pod. The most common types of pulses are lentils, beans, chickpeas, and split peas. Pulses are low in fat and high in protein and fiber as compared to peanuts and soy. They provide fertility to the soil by fixing nitrogen in the atmosphere. Wheat is a grass that is cultivated for its seed. It is a cereal grain considered to be a worldwide staple good. Wheat is a good source of carbohydrates. It is considered to be the oldest and most important cereal crop. A cereal is considered to be any grass cultivated for the edible components of its grain. These are produced in large quantities and are rich in vitamins, carbohydrates, minerals, fats, and oil. Few examples are Wheat, Maize Rice, Barley, Oats, Rye, and Sorghum Millets are highly nutritious and are known as coarse grain. It can be grown in regions that are less fertile and Sandy soil which receives low rainfall with moderate to high temperature. Jowar, Bajra and Ragi are grown in India, China, Niger, and Nigeria are examples of millets.
So, the correct answer is Option C.

Note: Jowar, Bajra, and Ragi fall in the category of millets. Millets are known as coarse grain. These can be grown in less fertile soil and sandy soil which receives low rainfall. India is considered the highest producer of Millets.