Courses
Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
More
Store Icon
Store
SearchIcon
banner

In cricket, what is a "free hit" awarded for in limited-overs cricket?

Answer
VerifiedVerified
1.5k+ views

Answer: For a no-ball delivery.


Explanation:

A free hit is one of the most exciting rules in modern limited-overs cricket that gives the batting team a significant advantage. This rule was introduced to penalize bowlers more severely for bowling no-balls and to make the game more entertaining for spectators.


When a bowler delivers a no-ball in limited-overs cricket (ODIs and T20s), the very next delivery automatically becomes a free hit. During a free hit, the batsman can only be dismissed in very specific ways - they can be run out, stumped, or caught if the ball hits their bat first and then their body before being caught. However, they cannot be bowled, caught directly, or given out LBW, which removes most of the common dismissal methods.


The most common types of no-balls that trigger a free hit include:


• Front foot no-balls - when the bowler's front foot crosses the popping crease • High full tosses - deliveries that reach the batsman above waist height without bouncing • Field restriction violations - when fielding positions don't comply with powerplay rules


The free hit rule creates an interesting tactical situation. Batsmen often attempt aggressive shots during free hits since the risk of getting out is significantly reduced. They might try to hit boundaries or sixes without worrying about being bowled or caught in conventional ways. This makes the game more thrilling and puts additional pressure on bowlers to maintain their discipline.


It's important to note that if the free hit delivery itself is also a no-ball, then the following delivery will again be a free hit. This continues until the bowler delivers a legal ball. The free hit rule applies only to limited-overs formats and is not used in Test cricket, where the traditional penalty of just an extra run and rebowling the delivery still applies.