Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

How do you appreciate the function of sensory organs, which helps us to enjoy the beauty of nature?

Last updated date: 19th Jul 2024
Total views: 423.9k
Views today: 9.23k
423.9k+ views
Hint: Sensory organs allow us to see, touch, smell, hear and taste.

Complete Answer:
We are blessed with special senses that allow us to manage our day to day lives in a smooth manner. These five senses are follows:
1) The eyes that help us perceive the vision. Our capacity to see the things, interpret their existence, appreciate and enjoy the natural beauty, differentiate between colours, read and write, etc. are dependent on our sight. Eyes are complex structures made up of neurosensory cells that are sensitive to light and send the visual stimulus to the occipital lobe of the cerebrum. It forms the image from the stimulus.

2) The ears that help us perceive the sound. We are able to differentiate between genres of music, noise, talks, honks, etc. because our ears perceive the sound waves that strike the ear membrane called tympanum. The vibrations in the tympanum are carried forward to the cochlea via three bones and these vibrations are then sent to the temporal region of the cerebrum that converts them to the sound.

3) The tongue which is filled with taste buds. These help us savour different delicacies, the temperature of the food, the different types of tastes, etc. The stimulus for taste is sent to the parietal region of the cerebrum that interprets it and tells us about taste specificity.

4) The nose that comes with olfactory epithelium, allowing us to smell scent, perfumes, foul smell, etc. The sense of smell is sent to the frontal lobe of the cerebrum that interprets the stimulus and tells us what we are smelling.

5) The skin which allows us to be sensitive to different types of touches, temperature, etc. The sensation of the touch is sent to the parietal lobe of the cerebrum which decodes the information and tells us what we are touching.

Note: Sense organs are called so because they are responsible for gathering various stimuli like light, sound, smell, taste and touch and provide it to the different parts of the cerebrum for interpretation.