Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Arunachal Pradesh, and Sikkim have common frontiers with __________.
A) China
B) Nepal
C) Bhutan
D) Myanmar
E) None of these

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 385.8k
Views today: 7.85k
385.8k+ views
A frontier is known as the border between two countries. A common frontier occurs when many states of a particular country have a common boundary with a different country.

Complete answer:
Uttarakhand: It is a part of northern, north-central, and central India. Its borders touch China in the north, Himachal Pradesh in the north-west and west, Nepal in the east, Haryana in the south-western corner, and Uttar Pradesh in the south. The state is also referred to as Devabhumi, literally meaning the land of Gods, due to plenty of pilgrimage centres and Hindu temples there. It became an independent state of the country on 9 November 2000.
Himachal Pradesh: Bounded by China in the east, the state is surrounded by other Indian states like Jammu and Kashmir in the north, Uttarakhand in the southeast, Uttar Pradesh in the south, Haryana in the southwest, and Punjab in the west.
Jammu and Kashmir: Most of this northern state is located in the Himalayan Mountains. It shares its border with Aksai Chin, territory administered by China, in the east, Himachal Pradesh and Punjab in the south, and also Pakistani-administered territories Gilgit-Baltistan and Azad Kashmir in the north and west respectively.
Arunachal Pradesh: It shares its border with China and Arunachal Pradesh, which is called the McMahon Line. The state also shares borders with Bhutan, Myanmar, Assam, and Nagaland. Also, the People’s Republic of China (PRC) claims a large part of the state and it is even referred to as “South Tibet” by the People’s Republic of China.
Sikkim: This north-eastern state touches China in the north, Nepal in the west, and Bhutan in the east. Sikkim mainly shares a border with other countries and with just one Indian state, i.e. West Bengal. The state is known for its biodiversity. In fact, it is the second smallest state in India.

Thus, option (A) is correct.

The People’s Republic of China claims the territory of Aksai Chin, which India claims as a part of Ladakh. China now administers Aksai Chin as a result of the 1962 Indo-China war, due to which India lost Aksai Chin to China, even though India still claims this territory. Moreover, it also claims the whole of Arunachal Pradesh.