Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The year in which the state was named as Karnataka in ____________.
A) 1956
B) 1961
C) 1973
D) 1981

Last updated date: 17th Jul 2024
Total views: 308.1k
Views today: 5.08k
308.1k+ views
Hint: Karnataka is a state in southwest India that borders the Arabian Sea. Bengaluru (previously Bangalore), the capital, is a high-tech centre noted for its shopping and nightlife. Mysore, in the southwest, is home to opulent temples such as Mysore Palace, the historic seat of the region's maharajas.

Complete answer:
From its creation in 1947, out of the lands of the Kingdom of Mysore, until 1956, Mysore State was a state within the Dominion and subsequently the Republic of India, with Bangalore as its capital. In 1956, the state was significantly expanded when it joined the Union of India as a linguistically homogenous
Kannada-speaking state.

Karnataka was the name given to the state when it was renamed. Within the erstwhile British Empire of India, the Kingdom of Mysore was one of the three biggest princely kingdoms. On 15 August 1947, Maharaja of Mysore Jayachamarajendra Wodeyar signed the instrument of accession, integrating his kingdom into the Union of India, following India's independence from Britain in 1947. The former princely state of Mysore was then recreated as a state inside the Indian Union.

In 1956, the Indian government implemented a thorough reorganisation of province boundaries based on the common language premise. The Kannada-speaking districts of Belgaum (excluding Chandgad taluk), Bijapur, Dharwar, and North Canara were moved from Bombay State to Mysore State on November 1, 1956, as a consequence of the States Reorganisation Act.

From the state of Andhra Pradesh, the Bellary district was moved. The districts of Koppal, Raichur, Gulbarga, and Bidar were moved from Hyderabad State, while South Canara was transferred from Madras State. In addition, the tiny Coorg State was incorporated into Mysore State and became a district. On November 1, 1973, the state was called Karnataka. So, The year in which the state was named Karnataka in 1973.

Therefore the correct answer is option ‘C’.

Note: Karnataka, originally Mysore (until 1973), is an Indian state on the subcontinent's western coast. It is bordered on the north by the states of Goa and Maharashtra, on the east by Telangana, on the southeast by Tamil Nadu, on the south by Kerala, and on the west by the Arabian Sea.