Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The Vedic literature is divided into two categories, viz, shruti and smriti. What is the difference between them?
1. Shruti is considered eternal whereas Smriti is subject to change
2.Smriti philosophy stands in direct opposition or contrast to shruti philosophy. Which of the above is correct?
A. 1 only.
B. 2 only
C. Both 1 and 2
D. None

Last updated date: 19th Jun 2024
Total views: 385.8k
Views today: 9.85k
385.8k+ views
Hint: The Vedas are important Hindu religious texts from ancient India.The Vedic literature is divided into two categories i.e Smriti and Shruti. They are written in Sanskrit.

Complete answer: Shrutis are those which are recited and heard. Smritis are remembered or memorized and are subjected to change over time. The Vedas are divided into two parts: The Samahita and Brahmanas. The basic mantra of each of the Veda is known as ‘Samhita’.Shruti is considered eternal whereas Smriti is subject to change. The Rigveda, Yajurveda, Atharvaveda and the Samaveda are the four Vedas. There is no such distinct division between Smriti and Shruti.
The four Vedas along with the Brahmanas, 108 Upanishads and the Aranyakas constitute the Shruti literature. The Brahmanas deal with detailed commentaries on the four Vedas and the performance of the rituals. The Brahmans are rituals primarily through breath, speech and mind. Smriti is generally attributed to have been written by an author whereas Smritis are authorless.
Option A is correct.

Note: The Brahmans play a significant role in the Vedas and therefore they are the Shruti. The Smritis are simple words which have to be remembered.