Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The east coast of India comprises ______ and ________.
A) Konkan coast and Malabar coast
B) Northern Circar and Coromandel coast
C) Malabar coast and Coromandel coast
D) Malabar coast and Northern Circar

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 384.6k
Views today: 5.84k
384.6k+ views
Hint: The Eastern Coast of India is a wide stretch of landmass between the Eastern Ghats and the Bay of Bengal. It is the one which lies towards the north and south of the river Krishna.

Complete answer:
The eastern coastal plains form wide deltas and are broader than the western coast. The eastern coast passes through the three Indian states; Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, and Odisha. They are also known as Utkal plains.

Konkan coast covers the western coasts of Maharashtra, Goa and Karnataka. The Malabar Coast is an area of the mainland of Indian subcontinent. It includes the wettest regions of southern India, as the Western Ghats block the moisture-laden monsoon rains, particularly on their westward-facing mountain slopes. This option is incorrect.

The Northern Circars are a part of the eastern coast and lie in Orissa and Andhra Pradesh. The Coromandel Coast lies in the southeastern coast region of the Indian subcontinent. It is bounded by the Utkal Plains to the north, the Bay of Bengal to the east, the Kaveri to the south, and the Eastern Ghats to the west. This option is correct.

Malabar coast lies in the western coast whereas the Coromandel coast lies in the Eastern coast. This option is incorrect. Malabar coast lies in the western coast and the Northern Circar lies in the north. This option is incorrect.

Hence the correct answer is option ‘B’.

Note: Coromandel coast lies in the rain shadow area of the Western Ghats. It gets rainfall in both the seasons and also from the North East Monsoons. This makes the Coromandel coast fertile. Western coastal plains are infertile except the Malabar coast.