Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Seven Nizams, who ruled Hyderabad were also known as ………………………
A.Asaf jahi
B.Qutub Shahi
D.None of these

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 385.8k
Views today: 9.85k
385.8k+ views
Hint:The Nizams were the Hyderabad kings of the 18th-through-20th-century. The title of the Hyderabad State king was Nizam of Hyderabad (as of 2019 divided between the state of Telangana, Hyderabad-Karnataka region of Karnataka and the Marathwada region of Maharashtra). Nizam, shortened from Nizam-ul-Mulk, which means Realm Administrator.

Complete answer:The title inherited by Asaf Jah I was Nizam. He was the viceroy of the Great Mughal in the Deccan, the prime courtier in Mughal India in 1724, and "Nizam of Hyderabad" was created.

Mir Qamar-ud-Din Siddiqi (Asaf Jah I), who served from 1713 to 1721 as viceroy of the Deccan under the Mughal Empire, founded the Asaf Jahi dynasty. After Emperor Aurangzeb's death in 1707, he intermittently ruled the region. Mughal rule collapsed in 1724, and Asaf Jah became almost independent of the Mughal Empire; Hyderabad would then become a Maratha Empire tributary, losing a series of battles in the 18th century.

There were only seven rulers in the Asaf Jah dynasty; however, there was a period of 13 turbulent years after the first Nizam's reign when three of his sons (Nasir Jung, Muzafar Jung and Salabath Jung) ruled. As representatives, they were never formally acknowledged. When India invaded Hyderabad in 1948, the seventh and last Nizam, Mir Osman Ali Khan, fell from power.

Hence, the correct answer is option (A).

Note:: A force that controlled a significant portion of the Indian subcontinent in the 18th century was the Maratha Kingdom or the Maratha Confederacy. With the coronation of Shivaji as the Chhatrapati, the dynasty officially existed from 1674 and ended in 1818 with the defeat of Peshwa Bajirao II at the hands of the British East India Company.