Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Mention the different categories of ministers in the Union Council of ministers.

Last updated date: 15th Jul 2024
Total views: 395.7k
Views today: 4.95k
395.7k+ views
Hint: The status of the council of ministers is contained in Article 74 of our constitution while Article 75 of the constitution deals with the appointment, tenure, responsibility, qualification, oath, salary and allowances of the ministers

Complete Step by Step Answer: Constitution provides that there shall be a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister as ahead to aid and advise the President in exercising his function. Prime Minister is the leader of the majority party that secures a majority of seats in the Lok Sabha.

The Union Council of Ministers comprises three categories of ministers - Cabinet, Ministry of State and Deputy Ministers. The difference between these three categories of ministers lies in their respective ranks, political importance and emoluments.

1. Cabinet Ministers: The ministers of the Cabinet head the important ministries of the Union government such as the Defence Ministry, Home Ministry, Finance Ministry, External Affairs Ministers etc. All these ministries play an important role in deciding policies and taking decisions regarding the transaction of the government's business. The policy decision made by the Cabinet is bounding on all ministers.

2. Ministry of State: The ministers of state can either be attached to cabinet ministers or can be given independent charge of departments or ministries. In both cases, they work under the supervision and control of the Cabinet ministers.

3. Deputy Ministers: Unlike the Ministry of State, they are not given independent charge of a department or ministries. They are either attached to the cabinet ministers or ministers of state. Their main task is to assist the cabinet ministers or ministry of state in their administrative, parliamentary and political duties. They also do not attend cabinet meetings as they are not the members of the Cabinet.

Note: The strength of the Council of Ministers is not fixed. But by the 91st Amendment Act, 2003, the strength of the Council of Ministers should not exceed 15 percent of the total strength of Lok Sabha.