Match the correct set of scientists in relation to cell division.
A.Robert Remak1.Meiosis
B.A.Howard and S.R.Pelc2.Mitosis
D.Farmer and Moore4.Cyclins
5.${ G }_{ 1 }$, S and ${ G }_{ 2 }$ phase

(A)A-3, B-2, C-1, D-4
(B)A-3, B-5, C-2, D-1
(C)A-4, B-2, C-3, D-5
(D)A-1, B-2, C-3, D-4

93k+ views
Hint: The different types of cell division and their stages were studied and discovered by different scientists in different timelines. After their explanation about these processes, we got the idea of cell division in an organized manner.

Complete answer:
Here the correct matching is
A-3, B-5, C-2, D-1
Amitosis is a process of cell division where mitosis is not involved and occurs by simple cleavage of the nucleus without a change in its structure and is usually followed by direct cytoplasmic division. It was discovered by Robert Remark in 1855.
Interphase is the phase in the cell cycle that comes before the mitotic phase and consists of 3 steps. ${ G }_{ 1 }$ phase, S phase, and ${ G }_{ 2 }$ phase. During ${ G }_{ 1 }$, the cell grows in size and makes copies of organelles and the molecular building blocks required for the later steps. In the S phase, synthesis of a complete copy of the DNA, as well as duplication of the centrosome, takes place. In the last ${ G }_{ 2 }$ step, the cell grows more in size and produces proteins and organelles. It begins to reorganize the content and prepares for the M phase. These three cell cycle steps were designated by Alma Howard and S.R. Pelc.
Mitosis occurs after interphase in which replicated chromosomes undergo separation into two new nuclei. Mitosis occurs through 5 different steps- prophase, prometaphase, metaphase, anaphase, and telophase. Mitosis was first introduced by Flemming in 1882.
Meiosis or reduction cell division was discovered by Farmer and Moore in 1905 and is defined as a special type of cell division of germ cells to produce gametes. In this kind of process, the cell undergoes two rounds of division to produce 4 daughter cells with a ploidy of n.
Therefore the correct answer is “A-3, B-5, C-2, D-1”.

Note: Cyclin is a series of proteins that are responsible for the progression of a cell through the cell cycle by activation of CDK enzymes required for the cell cycle. It was discovered in 1982 by R. Timothy Hunt. There are several types of cyclins found in different parts of the cell cycle. The two main groups are- ${ G }_{ 1 }$ or S cyclins and ${ G }_{ 2 }$ or M cyclins.