Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The Current Chief Ministers of India

Last updated date: 23rd May 2024
Total views: 442.5k
Views today: 12.42k
442.5k+ views

As per the Gazette of India 2019, India has 28 States and 8 Union Territories. Till now, there exists 31 Chief Ministers in India, 28 from States and 3 from Union Territories (Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu and Kashmir). According to the Constitution of India, the Chief Minister is the real executive head of the particular state and Governor is the nominal executive head of the state. In the Constitution, India has been described as a ‘Union of States’. According to Article 164 of the Constitution, Governor shall appoint the Chief Minister of a State but not any other minister of the CM’s portfolio. 

The State-wise list of Chief Ministers of India

Andhra Pradesh-  Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy. Serving since 30-05-2019.

Arunachal Pradesh- Pema Khandu. Serving since 17-06-2016.

Assam- Sarbananda Sonowal. Serving since 24-05-2016.

Bihar- Nitish Kumar. Serving since 22-02-2015.

Chattishgarh- Shri Bhupesh. Serving since 17-12-2018.

Delhi & NCR- Arvind Kejriwal. Serving since 14-02-2018 (5 years 45 days).

Goa- Pramod Sawant. Serving since 19-03-2019.

Gujarat- Vijay Rupani. Serving since 07-08-2016.

Haryana- Manohar Lal Khattar. Serving since 26-10-2014.

Himachal Pradesh- Jai Ram Thakur. Serving since 27-12-2017.

Jharkhand- Hemant Soren. Serving since 29-12-2019.

Karnataka- B.S. Yeddyurappa. Serving since 26-07-2019. 

Kerala- Pinarayi Vijayan. Serving since 25-05-2016.

Madhya Pradesh- Shivraj Singh Chouhan. Serving since 23-03-2020. 

Maharashtra- Uddhav Thackeray. Serving since 28-11-2019. 

Manipur- N. Biren Singh. Serving since 15-03-2017. 

Meghalaya- Conrad Sangma. Serving since 06-03-2018.

Mizoram- Zoramthanga. Serving since 15-12-2018.

Nagaland- Neiphiu Rio. Serving since 08-03-2018. 

Odisha- Naveen Patnaik. Serving since 05-03-2000.

Puducherry- V. Narayanasamy. Serving since 06-06-2016. 

Punjab- Captain Amarinder Singh. Serving since 16-03-2017.

Rajasthan- Ashok Gehlot. Serving since 17-12-2018.

Sikkim- Prem Singh Tamang. Serving since 27-05-2019.

Tamil Nadu- Edappadi K. Palanswami. Serving since 16-02-2017. 

Telangana- K. Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) since First (from 02-06-2014 to 12-12-2018) and Second term (13-12-2018 till present).

Tripura- Biplab Kumar Deb. Serving since 09-03-2018.

Uttar Pradesh- Yogi Aditynath. Serving since 19-03-2017.

Uttarakhand- Trivendra Singh Rawat. Serving since 18-03-2017.

West Bengal- Mamata Banerjee. Serving since 20-05-2011. 

Chief Ministers of the Union Territories 

Apart from the above-mentioned Chief Ministers, the current Lieutenant Governors of the Union Territories of India are Devendra Kumar Joshi (Andaman & Nicobar Islands), V.P. Singh Badnore (Chandigarh), Praful Khoda Patel (Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu), Anil Baijal (Delhi), Farooq Khan (Lakshadweep), Kiran Bedi (Puducherry), Radha Krishna Mathur (Ladakh) and Girish Chandra Murmu (Jammu and Kashmir).

Since India is a federal country, states play a very crucial role in its policy-making and administration. The centre cannot impose anything common people without discussing the issue with the state head or Chief Minister of the state. The overall development of India is only possible if there exists healthy collaboration between the Centre and State.    

Recently Updated Pages