Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

In which continent the famous Amazon rain-forest is found?
A. Africa
B. North America
C. South America
D. Europe

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 372.9k
Views today: 5.72k
372.9k+ views
Hint- It is a continent that is entirely in the Western Hemisphere and majorly located in the Southern Hemisphere, with a relatively small portion located in the Northern Hemisphere.
The continent's cultural as well as ethnic outlook also has its origin with the interaction of indigenous peoples with European conquerors as well as immigrants and, more locally, with African slaves.

Complete answer:
Amazon Rainforest refers to large tropical rainforests that occupy the drainage basin of the Amazon River as well as its tributaries which are in northern South America and also covers an area of around 2,300,000 square miles (6,000,000 square km). Constituting around 40 percent of Brazil’s whole area, it is also bounded by the Guiana Highlands towards the north, the Andes Mountains towards the west, the Brazilian central plateau towards the south, and the Atlantic Ocean towards the east. The Amazon Rainforest is known as the world’s richest as well as most-varied biological reservoir, that contains various million species of insects, plants, birds, and other forms of life, many are even now unrecorded by science. The luxuriant vegetation encompasses a huge variety of trees, that includes a lot of species of myrtle, laurel, palm, and acacia, as well as rosewood, Brazil nut, and rubber tree. Excellent timber is generally furnished by the mahogany as well as the Amazonian cedar. Most of the wildlife consists of jaguar, manatee, tapir, red deer, capybara, and many other types of rodents, and different types of monkeys.

Thus, Option C is the correct answer.

Note- It covers around 40 percent of the South American continent as well as consists of parts of eight South American countries such as Brazil, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela, Guyana, and Suriname, along with the French Guiana, a department of France.