Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Who was the first Chief Minister of the responsible government of Mysore?

Last updated date: 18th Jun 2024
Total views: 385.5k
Views today: 8.85k
385.5k+ views
Hint: The first Chief Minister of the responsible government of Mysore was elected in 1947 and Maharaja Jayachamarajendra Wadiyar was the first Governor.

Complete answer: Kyasamballi Chengaluraya Reddy was the first Chief Minister of the responsible government of Mysore. He served as the Chief Minister of Mysore state from 1947 - 1952 and later on, he served as the Governor of Madhya Pradesh from 1965 - 1971.

He was a revolutionary since childhood and participated in various protests against the British rule in India. He founded the Praja Paksha, also known as the Peoples’ party in 1930 along with other political activists. The aim of this party was to establish a responsible government in the Princely state of Mysore and gained support from the rural areas because it highlighted the issues of the farmers. In 1934, Praja Samyukta Paksha, also known as Mysore People’s Federation was formed by joining the Praja Paksha and Praja Mitra Mandali. Later on, the federation merged with the Indian National Congress and Reddy served as the President of Mysore Congress twice.

Note: Chief Minister is the de facto head and is the real executive of the State. He heads the State government’s Council of Minister and advises the Governor for their appointment.