Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

A rural local government is popularly known by the name:
A.Panchayati Raj
B.Municipal Corporation
C.Municipal Council
D.Ward Council

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 373.5k
Views today: 3.73k
373.5k+ views
Hint: Decentralised local self-government bodies have been a part of Indian history since the ancient times, however, post-independence it was only in 1992 after the passage of the 73rd and 74th Amendment Act when rural and urban local self bodies were officially organised and given adequate powers and functions.

Complete answer: Option A: is correct because when we talk about rural local self-government Panchayati Raj is the most common term out of the four to be associated with it. Although Panchayati Raj broadly covers the system of local self-government, the rural local bodies according to the 73rd Amendment Act of 1992 are to be organised as a three-tier system with Gram Sabha as the base in villages, and above it, panchayats will be constituted at intermediate block and district levels.

Options B, C and D: are incorrect. All three— Municipal Corporations, Municipal Councils and Ward Councils are associated with urban local self-government. The 74th Constitutional Amendment Act of 1992 organised urban local bodies into three categories—Municipal Corporations/Mahanagar Palika, Municipal Councils/Nagar Palika, Nagar Panchayat/Notified Area Council. Currently, there are over 3700 urban local bodies in India.

Thus, Option A is correct.

Note: The rural local self-government institutions are responsible for the matters stated under the 11th Schedule of the Constitution which include agriculture, minor irrigation, animal husbandry, fisheries, minor forest produce, small-scale industries, rural housing, drinking water, fuel and fodder, rural electrification, poverty alleviation programmes, education, health and sanitation, social welfare and such.