Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres

Which planet is known as the red planet?

Last updated date: 29th Feb 2024
Total views: 354.9k
Views today: 3.54k
354.9k+ views
Hint: The Solar System is a collection of the Sun, the eight planets along with their moons and small bodies in the form of asteroids, comets and meteoroids. There are a total of 8 planets in our Solar System.

Complete answer:Planets are large celestial bodies which revolve around the Sun in their orbit. There are a total of 8 planets, namely, Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.

The four terrestrial planets are; Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars, and the four giant planets are; Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.
Out of the 8 planets, 6 are orbited by one or more natural satellites.
Pluto, Eris, Haumea, and Makemake constitute the dwarf planets.

Looking at the options given:

Option a: Mercury is the closest planet to the sun and the second-smallest planet in our solar system. This planet has no atmosphere due to the high temperatures. This is an incorrect answer.

Option b: Mars is the fourth planet from the sun and is considered as the "red planet". This is due to the high iron content in its soil which imparts a red colour to the soil. This is the correct option.

Option c: Venus is a toxic planet which consists primarily of carbon dioxide. It is the hottest planet in the solar system and can be seen by the naked eye from Earth. This is an incorrect option.

Option d: Jupiter is the largest planet in our system. It has poisonous gases covering its surface. Its atmosphere is similar to that of the sun due to the presence of hydrogen and helium. Therefore, this is not the correct answer.

Note: The planets in the Solar System are classified into 2 main types:
-large low-density giant planets which are massive planets with a solid ice surface.
-smaller rocky terrestrial planets, which comprise a rocky surface.
Trending doubts