Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Uttar Pradesh shares the border with how many ‘states’.
A) 6
B) 7
C) 8
D) 9

Last updated date: 24th Jul 2024
Total views: 350.1k
Views today: 8.50k
350.1k+ views
Hint: Uttar Pradesh is a northern Indian state. With a population of about 200 million people, it is both India's most populous state and the world's most populous country. During British rule, it was established on April 1, 1937, as the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh, and was renamed Uttar Pradesh in 1950.

Complete answer:
Uttar Pradesh (UP) can be divided into three regions:
- The Siwalik foothills of the Himalayas and the Terai area in the north
- The Gangetic plains are located in the middle.
- The Vindhya range and plateau are to the south.
The state is divided into 18 divisions and 75 districts, with Lucknow as the capital and Kanpur as the financial and industrial capital.

Now, let us look at the given options:
Option A) 6: This answer is incorrect because UP shares its border with 9 other states. Maharashtra shares a border with 6 states where Gujarat is in the northwest, Madhya Pradesh is in the north, Chhattisgarh is in the east, Telangana is in the southeast, Karnataka is in the south, and Goa is in the south.
Option B) 7: This answer is incorrect because UP shares its border with 9 other states. In terms of sharing boundaries with maximum states, Assam is ranked second. The state is bordered by as many as seven other states.
Option C) 8: This answer is incorrect because Uttar Pradesh is the only Indian state which shares a border with 9 other states. No Indian state shares its border with 8 neighbouring states.
Option D) 9: This is the correct answer. Uttar Pradesh is India's only landlocked state. It shares a border with eight states and one federal territory. Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, and Delhi are the states involved.

Thus, the correct answer is Option D.

Note: The British merged the provinces of Agra and Oudh to form the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh. In 1935, the name was changed to United Provinces. The United Provinces were renamed Uttar Pradesh in January 1950.

Uttarakhand and Himachal Pradesh border the state on the north, Haryana on the west, Madhya Pradesh on the south, and Bihar on the east. The state of Uttar Pradesh can be divided into two regions: the Southern Hills and the Gangetic Plain.