Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The summer capital of Jammu and Kashmir is _____

Last updated date: 13th Jun 2024
Total views: 372.3k
Views today: 8.72k
372.3k+ views
Hint: Jammu and Kashmir is the northernmost union territory of India. To its west it has the union territory of Ladakh, to its south it has the state of Himachal Pradesh and to its east lies the Line of Control and the territories of Azad Kashmir and Gilgit Baltistan.

Complete answer: The Union Territory has two divisions- Jammu division and Kashmir division and is further divided into 20 districts. The region has one winter capital and one summer capital.
Let us look at the options given to us-
Option A- Jammu is the winter capital of Jammu and Kashmir. It is the capital from the months of November to April. Jammu lies on the banks of Tawi river.
Option B- Srinagar is the summer capital of Jammu and Kashmir. It is the capital from the months of May to October. Srinagar. It lies in the Kashmir valley. It is situated by the bank of Jhelum river. It has famous lakes like the Dal and Anchar lake.
Option C- Pahalgam is a hill station in Jammu and Kashmir. It is situated in Anantnag , by the banks of Lidder river.
Option D- Gulmarg is a hill station in Pir Panjal ranges. It is situated in Baramulla district and is at an elevation of 2650m.

Therefore the correct answer is Option B -Srinagar.

Note: This system of two capitals in Jammu and Kashmir was started by the Dogra kings. Srinagar is strategically located to control the state of Jammu and Kashmir. However , the region experiences hard winters and is difficult to reach because of snow and roadblocks. Hence, the winter capital of the state is Jammu and Kashmir.