Questions & Answers

The developmental stages in a community are called
A. Climax changes
B. Biological changes
C. Seral changes
D. Climatic changes

Answer Verified Verified
Hint: A developmental stage of ecological succession refers to transitional community. These occur along the intermediate stages between two succession levels towards the climax community.

Complete answer: The question demands a thorough study about the ecological succession and different communities. So let us learn these first.
Ecological succession is a process or a gradual change in the specific organization of an ecological community over time. Here, the time span could range between a few decades to even millions of years. In ecological succession, a pioneer community undergoes different levels of succession (primary, secondary, etc.) and the ecosystem advances towards the climax community.

Among the entire sequence of communities, an intermediate stage or a transitional community found in ecological succession is called a sere or a seral community. The transitions are termed as the seral stages. In each such stage, there is a change in the diversity of organisms or species.

So, the correct answer is C. Seral changes</b>

Note: A seral communities can be of different types based on its substratum and climate, viz. hydrosere (in water), lithosere (in the rocky substratum), xerosere (in deserted regions), etc.
Bookmark added to your notes.
View Notes