Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

The correct order of the level of classification is
A. Kingdom, class, genus, family
B. Phylum, class, order, genus
C. Species, order, family, phylum
D. Class, kingdom, family, order
E. Genus, order, species, phylum

Last updated date: 23rd Jun 2024
Total views: 387k
Views today: 6.87k
387k+ views
Hint: Taxonomy is the study of categorizing species to create shared global classification frameworks with each organism split into even more inclusive classes. Categories within the taxonomic studies are structured in quite an increasingly consistent fashion.

Complete answer: The structure of taxonomic identification follows a hierarchical template. Just after the popular start of all life, researchers classified species into three broad categories called domains: bacteria, archaea, and eukaryote. In each domain, there is a secondary category called the Kingdom. And after kingdoms, the following categories are present in an increasing manner: phylum, class, order, family, genus, and species. Scientists keep referring to an organism only by its genus and species, and is its two-word scientific name, in what has been recognized as the binomial nomenclature. The name of each class is very often considered a taxon. Latest genetic studies and other improvements have all shown that most of the earlier taxonomic classifications really aren't consistent with evolutionary history; thus, updates should be rendered as new findings occur. In fact, the grouping has historically focused on grouping organisms predominantly by common characteristics.
Hence, the correct option is (B).

Note: Taxonomy is the discipline of naming, classifying, and assigning various species into divisions. All entities, both living and extinct, are separated into various classes of closely related species and thus are given a scientific name. There seem to be 8 different taxonomic types. The following are Domain, Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus, and Species. For reference, the taxonomy of humans is, Domain: Eukaryotes, Kingdom: Animalia, Phylum: Chordata, Class: Mammalia, Order: Primates, Family: Hominidae, Genus: Homo, Species: Homo sapiens