Now in India how many states and union territories are there in the First Schedule of the constitution of India?
A. 26 States and 8 Union Territories
B. 27 States and 7 Union Territories
C. 28 States and 9 Union Territories
D. 29 States and 7 Union Territories

183.9k+ views
Union Territories are the areas which are under the immediate authority and supervision of the Central government. October 31, 2019, was the day of appointment for the two Union Territories “Jammu & Kashmir” and “Ladakh”.

Complete answer:
In 1956 ‘union territories’ were established by the 7th Constitutional Amendment Act (1956) and the States Reorganisation Act (1956). Some of these UTs have been elevated to statehood like Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Tripura, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Goa, which are states today were formerly considered as union territories.

Before Aug. 5, 2019, there were 29 states and 7 Union Territories (UTs) in India.
According to the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019, October 31 was the day of appointment for the two Union Territories “Jammu & Kashmir” and “Ladakh”. A state has been converted into two Union Territories (UTs) for the first time.

With the division of Jammu and Kashmir, India now officially has 28 states and 9 Union Territories. Like Puducherry, J&K will have a legislature but Ladakh will not have one, like Chandigarh. Through a Bill passed by the Parliament in the winter session, the Union Territories of Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli have become a single union territory since January 26, 2020. With the merger of Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the number of Union Territories has come down to eight.

The eight Union Territories are:
1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
2. Chandigarh
3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
4. National Capital Territory of Delhi
5. Jammu and Kashmir
6. Lakshadweep
7. Ladakh
8. Puducherry

Therefore the correct answer is C

The J&K Legislative Council, also known as Upper House, has been abolished with the reorganisation of the state. The J&K High Court is the common high court of the two new UTs. According to the Act, existing court’s judges shall become judges of the common high court. For the J&K UT, there will be a separate advocate general.