Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Linguistic Provinces Commissions was also named as _____.
A. Dar-Bar Commission
B. Dar Commission
C. Both A and B
D. None of these

Last updated date: 18th Jul 2024
Total views: 394.2k
Views today: 3.94k
394.2k+ views
Hint:On 17 June 1948, the President of the Constituent Assembly, Rajendra Prasad, set up a Commission for the Linguistic Provinces (aka the Dhar Commission) to recommend whether or not the states should be reorganised on a linguistic basis.

Complete answer:
In 1948, the Linguistic Provinces Commission (aka Dar Commission) and then the "JVP committee" were followed by the States Reorganization Commission. SK Dhar (retired Judge of the Allahabad High Court), Jagat Narain Lal (lawyer and constituent assembly member) and Panna Lal Lal (retired Judge of the Allahabad High Court) were part of the committee (retired Indian Civil Service officer). In its report of 10 December 1948, the Commission recommended that the creation of provinces on the sole or even primarily linguistic basis is not in the broader interest of the Indian community.

It proposed that the provinces of Madras, Bombay and the Central and Berar Provinces be reorganised primarily on the basis of geographical contiguity, financial self-sufficiency and ease of management. Soon after the report was released, the Congress set up the "JVP committee" at its Jaipur session to review the Dar Commission's recommendations. Jawaharlal Nehru and Vallabhbhai Patel, in addition to Congress President Pattabhi Sitaramayya, were part of the committee. "The Committee stated in its report of 1 April 1949 that the time was not appropriate for the formation of new provinces, but also stated that the popular sentiment is insistent and overwhelming; we, as Democrats, must submit to it but subject to some limitations with regard to the good of the whole of India.

So the correct answer is option B.

Note:A significant reform of the borders of the states and territories of India, grouping them along linguistic lines, was the States Reorganisation Act, 1956.