Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

In Whittaker’s system of classification, prokaryotes belong to the kingdom of

Last updated date: 21st Jun 2024
Total views: 394.8k
Views today: 11.94k
394.8k+ views
Hint: In Whittaker's classification scheme, prokaryotes belong to the kingdom, which in Greek means single or solitary. This kingdom includes unicellular species, such as bacteria, with a prokaryotic cell organization (with no nuclear membrane). They are unicellular species that do not have a real nuclear membrane.

Complete answer:
A five-kingdom scheme of biological classification had been suggested by R.H.Whittaker in 1969. It is based on cell structure complexity, organization of the body, and mode of nutrition.
Monera (Bacteria), Protista, Fungi, Plantae, and Animalia are the five kingdoms.
Monera: All prokaryotic species are included in this kingdom. Unicellular microorganisms are classified within this kingdom, such as Mycoplasma, Bacteria, Actinomycetes, and Cyanobacteria. These are prokaryotic organisms which, like the nucleus, mitochondria, and chloroplast, do not have well-developed cell organelles.
With peptidoglycan in the cell wall, they are practically unicellular. Naked circular DNA is coiled without histone-associated nucleoid formation, ribosomes are the 70S, thylakoids are present in photoautotrophs, but there are no other membrane-bound organelles. In their diet mode, they are heterotrophic, phototrophic, or chemotrophic. Both single-cell prokaryotes are blue-green algae, nitrogen-fixing bacteria, and methanogenic archaebacteria, so they are included in the Monera Kingdom.

Additional Information: Protista: Eukaryotic unicellular protozoans, slime moulds, and algae are included in this kingdom. There is a normal eukaryotic cell organization in these species.
Fungi: Non-green, non-photosynthetic eukaryotic fungi are involved in this kingdom. Under this kingdom, moulds, mushrooms, toadstools, puffballs, and bracket fungi are grouped.
Plantae: All multicellular land and water plants are included. Photosynthesis is used by them to synthesize their organic molecules.
Animalia: All multicellular eukaryotic species are included in this kingdom. They are referred to as Metazoans as well. Via one of the ingestion portals, animals consume their food and then use digestive enzymes to break up food particles into absorbable pieces.
So, the correct answer is, ‘Monera’.

Note: The Monera are the earth's oldest recognized microorganisms. Among other species, they are found among hot springs, snow, deep seas, or parasites. They replicate by binary fission or budding asexually. As the locomotory organ, flagellum serves. These are decomposers of the environment.