Courses for Kids
Free study material
Offline Centres
Store Icon

Grinding and chewing teeth are called,
A. Premolars
B. Canines
C. Incisors
D. Molars

Last updated date: 17th Jun 2024
Total views: 385.2k
Views today: 9.85k
385.2k+ views
Hint: Teeth are the part of our mouth and can be considered as the important one because of their function of chewing. Basically, the food particles or whatever we eat is obtained to be in its simplest form from the complex one due to the very step, that from teeth in the process of digestion.

Complete answer: Teeth have three main functions of breaking down or masticating the food, enabling humans to pronounce the words, and enhancing the facial functions. Chewing has various positive effects on human health and it also helps in the production of saliva.
Teeth have mainly four types which are as follows:
1. Incisors: - These are 8 in number and are located in the front centre of the mouth. Four on both bottom and top.
2. Canines: - These are the next teeth that develop in the mouth. They
3. Premolars: - These are used for tearing and crushing food.
4. Molars: - They are considered to be the largest teeth. They help to have a grip on the food. The molars include four wisdom teeth, which are the last set of teeth to appear.
Hence, the correct answer is option (D). Molars.

Note: Apart from the four which are mentioned above, there is one more type namely ‘Third molars’ also called ‘Wisdom teeth’. These are the last of the human teeth to erupt or appear in the mouth. These occur usually between the ages of 17 and 25. Sometimes, these remain impacted below the surface of the gums and develop at an odd angle and hence causing complications.